Bach's Christmas Oratorio

It’s already a tradition that the European Christmas festival should be closed by the baroque giant Johann Sebastian Bach’s Christmas Oratorio: a beautiful message about the time of Jesus’ birth and the events surrounding it. The message of joy has been received and the soul rejoices!

The oratorio consists of six movements or six cantatas, and in this concert, conductor Kaspars Putniņš along with an outstanding ensemble of soloists, the Latvian Radio Choir, and orchestra Sinfonietta Rīga invite the audience to listen to the first, fifth and sixth movements. This year, the soloists of this concert include vocalists that are very familiar to the Latvian audiences: the owner of a crystalline soprano voice Ilze Grēvele-Skaraine, the young German mezzo soprano Dorothee Bienert, as well as Nicholas Mulroy, the English tenor who has gained acclaim for his interpretations of Bach and baritone Pauls Putniņš.


Johann Sebastian Bach Christmas Oratorio, Parts 1, 5 and 6


Ilze Grēvele-Skaraine, soprano
Dorothee Bienert, mezzo-soprano
Nicholas Mullroy, tenor
Pauls Putniņš, baritone
Latvian Radio Choir
Sinfonietta Rīga 
Conductor Kaspars Putniņš